Three Tips for Post-Gran Fondo Recovery

03/06/2019

Was your Crossroads weekend hard on the body? Was it your first big bike outing of the season? I have three pieces of advice you can use in future for active recovery after a major endurance ride, high-intensity training or a competition.

1. Take a day off

The body needs time to bounce back. It needs a day with no training or very light training. The aim is to quantify the level of mechanical stress on the body in order to optimize progress and reduce the risk of injury.

If you look at the graph above, intense training corresponds to the top of the green curve, without going above the maximum capacity line. So we want to allow time for the body to recover without giving it a new overload too soon and, in so doing, stay within the limits of good progress.

2. Keep moving!

A day off doesn’t mean giving yourself permission to be a total couch potato! What your body needs is recovery time with a minimal level of activity. After intense effort, you will likely feel fatigue and stiffness quickly setting in on the same or next day. To promote muscular blood flow and avoid ankylosis, opt for regular movement over immobility. Activity and light muscle exertion will enhance blood flow to help flush out undesirable metabolites and promote the circulation of restorative agents.

That means today is not the day to lie back and binge-watch. Whether you’re at home or the office, stand up and stretch at least once every hour.

3. Use self-massage tools

Right now, your foam roller and exercise ball are your best friends! Along the same principles as my second tip, self-massage routines will revive blood flow through muscle, enabling better recovery and warding off painful stiffness. They will also help reduce muscle tension.

After a strenuous ride, you want to prioritize your legs, which have worked very hard! The quadriceps, hamstrings, buttocks and calves all need some TLC. I recommend two to five minutes of light activity for each muscle group on the day of your ride and the two days after that.

If you have pain that persists beyond three days, especially if it is asymmetrical, I strongly advise you to see a physiotherapist to identify the cause before an injury develops. The cycling season is only just beginning and you don’t want to start off on the wrong foot!

Enjoy a good, active recovery!

For more information on our physiotherapy services or other guidance tools, visit our Facebook page or website!

https://www.facebook.com/nxtgphysio/

https://www.nxtgphysio.com

Thanks to our partners


Presented by
Proud partners
Media partners
Host partners
Government partner

3 trucs de récupération post Gran Fondo

03/06/2019

La fin de semaine Crossroads a été difficile sur le corps? C’était peut-être votre première grosse sortie de la saison? Voici trois conseils à utiliser dans le futur pour une récupération active après une grande sortie d’endurance, un entrainement à haute intensité ou une compétition!

1. Prendre une journée « off »

Notre corps a besoin de temps pour reprendre le dessus. Une journée sans entrainement ou un entrainement très léger s’impose. Ce qu’on veut, c’est quantifier le niveau de stress mécanique sur notre corps dans le but d’optimiser la progression et de diminuer le risque de blessure.

 

 

Si on regarde le graphique ci-haut, notre entrainement intense correspond à la plus grande remontée de la courbe en vert, sans dépasser la ligne de capacité maximale. On veut donc laisser le temps à notre corps de récupérer sans mettre une nouvelle surcharge trop tôt et ainsi rester dans les limites de la bonne progression.

2. Bouger!

Attention! Il ne faut pas pour autant s'en tenir au divan! On veut tout de même une récupération un minimum active. Suite à un effort intense, on peut ressentir la fatigue et les courbatures s’installer rapidement la journée même ou le lendemain. Afin de favoriser le flot sanguin musculaire et éviter l’ankylose, il suffit de rester immobile le moins possible. Le fait de bouger et donc d’utiliser un peu nos muscles, ramène le flot sanguin et favorise le « flushing » des métabolites non désirés ainsi que le flux des agents réparateurs.

Ce n’est donc pas le temps de faire une journée cinéma. À la maison ou au bureau, levez-vouz à chaque heure au minimum pour vous dégourdir.

3. Utiliser tes outils d’automassage

Le foam roller et la balle deviennent vos meilleurs amis! Dans un même ordre d’idées, les automassages ramènent le flux sanguin dans le muscle, permettent une meilleure récupération et repoussent aussi l’effet douloureux des courbatures. De plus, ça vous aidera également à réduire les tensions musculaires développées.

Pour une sortie à vélo, il faudra prioriser les jambes qui ont travaillé fort! Quadriceps, ischio-jambiers, fessier et mollets. Il est suggéré de passer de 2 à 5 minutes par groupe musculaire la journée même et les deux journées suivant la sortie.

Si jamais vous avez des douleurs qui persistent au-delà de trois jours, surtout si elles sont asymétriques, nous vous conseillons de consulter un physio afin d’identifier la cause avant de développer une blessure. La saison ne fait que commencer, mieux vaut ne partir du mauvais pied!

 

Bonne récupération active!

Pour plus de renseignements sur nos services en physiothérapie ou d’autres outils-conseils consultez notre page Facebook ou notre site internet!

https://www.facebook.com/nxtgphysio/
https://www.nxtgphysio.com

Merci à nos partenaires


Présenté par
Fiers partenaires
Partenaires médias
Partenaires hôtes
Partenaire gouvernemental